skills / research

market-sizing

what it does

Estimate market size using TAM, SAM, and SOM with top-down and bottom-up approaches. Use when sizing a market opportunity, estimating addressable market, preparing for investor pitches, or evaluating market entry.

Verified Before and after: 2 models 1 try per case View source Download .zip

Compare the answers

Answers from Claude Sonnet 5.5 and GPT-6.1 Sol · try 1 of 1

Same request, same model, once with the skill and once without. Read both and judge for yourself.

“An investor pushed back on our TAM slide. Is it wrong? Here's the slide and some numbers we have.”

Source material given with the request

Product: Pantrylog, inventory tracking for independent restaurants, $49 per location per month. Slide: "TAM: 33.2M US small businesses × $49/month × 12 = $19.5B" Other numbers we have: about 410,000 independent restaurant locations in the US.
with the skill
**Yes—the arithmetic is right, but the market definition is wrong for your current product.** You’re counting all US small businesses even though Pantrylog serves independent restaurants. ## The corrected TAM Using your figures: | Input | Value | |---|---:| | US independent restaurant locations | ~410,000 | | Price per location per month | $49 | | Annual revenue per location | $588 | | **Annual US TAM** | **$241.1M** | **410,000 × $49 × 12 = $241,080,000** Your current $19.5B claim is about **81 times larger** because it includes businesses outside your target customer segment. It also mixes **business counts** with **per-location pricing**—those aren’t necessarily the same unit. ### Suggested replacement slide > **~$241M US annual TAM**
Show the rest (31 more lines)
> ~410,000 independent restaurant locations × $588 annual subscription per location. Footnote the source and year for the 410,000 estimate. I’m treating that number as your supplied estimate, not independently verified data. ## How to defend it **Bottom-up:** Eligible locations × annual subscription price gives ~$241M. This is the strongest approach for a per-location SaaS product. **Top-down cross-check:** Start with the total US restaurant-location universe, then exclude chains and other ineligible establishments. That should reconcile with your ~410,000 count. Your small-business figure doesn’t independently validate the restaurant opportunity; applying the restaurant share to it would simply reproduce the same assumption. The $241M figure represents **hypothetical annual subscription revenue at full penetration**, not restaurant sales, inventory spending, or revenue you can realistically capture. ## Keep TAM, SAM, and SOM separate | Metric | What it means for Pantrylog | Estimate | |---|---|---:| | **TAM** | All eligible US independent restaurant locations at today’s price | **~$241M annually** | | **SAM** | Locations your current integrations, workflows, language, and coverage can serve | Not enough information | | **SOM** | Locations you can realistically acquire and retain within 1–3 years | Not enough information | For scale, **1,000 paying locations = $588,000 ARR**; **5,000 = $2.94M ARR**. Those are scenarios, not forecasts—your acquisition capacity and churn must support them. ## Assumptions investors may challenge 1. **Location count:** Does 410,000 include the restaurant types you actually serve? Confidence depends on the source. 2. **Product fit:** Do all those locations need a standalone inventory tool, including those already using bundled alternatives? Validate through customer research. 3. **Realized price:** Does $49 hold after discounts and multi-location deals? Validate with paid customers. For a 2–3-year projection, model changes in eligible locations and realized annual price; don’t apply an unsupported growth rate. **Bottom line:** Replace the $19.5B claim. A defensible ~$241M core TAM, with clearly labeled expansion opportunities, is more credible than an inflated headline.
without
**The investor’s pushback is justified: the math is right, but the market definition is wrong.** Your slide assumes every US small business is a potential Pantrylog customer. Based on your product description, the relevant customers are **independent restaurant locations**, not all small businesses. ### The corrected calculation At $49 per location per month, annual revenue per location is **$588**. | Market basis | Calculation | Annual market size | |---|---|---:| | Current slide: all US small businesses | 33.2M × $588 | $19.5B | | Your stated target: US independent restaurant locations | 410,000 × $588 | **$241.1M** | The current slide therefore overstates the market for your stated product and customer segment by about **81×**. ### Suggested replacement slide > **US TAM: ~$241M in annual subscription revenue** > ~410,000 independent restaurant locations × $49/location/month × 12 > *At current pricing; assumes every eligible location subscribes.*
Show the rest (10 more lines)
Cite and verify the 410,000 figure, including its date and definition of “independent.” Since you charge per location, **locations—not restaurant companies or owners—are the right unit**. Also distinguish: - **TAM:** All eligible independent restaurant locations. - **SAM:** The subset your current product can actually serve, given geography, integrations, restaurant type, and other constraints. - **SOM:** The locations you can realistically win over a stated period, supported by acquisition and retention assumptions. If you have credible plans to serve chains, international restaurants, or adjacent businesses, show those as **separate expansion opportunities** rather than counting all small businesses today. A clean response to the investor: **“You’re right—we used an overly broad denominator. At our current target segment and pricing, US TAM is approximately $241M annually.”**

Answers are shown exactly as the model wrote them, from the first try, and nothing is picked by hand.

The models

2 models

Claude Sonnet 5.5

made by Anthropic

claude-sonnet-5-5 · revision not reported by the provider

1 try per case · tested 3 Nov 2026

GPT-6.1 Sol

made by OpenAI

gpt-6.1-sol · revision not reported by the provider

1 try per case · tested 3 Nov 2026

The tasks

written by Carte Blanche
ev-installs-growth

“What's this market worth now and in 2029, and how much of it could we realistically capture?”

nurse-language-app

“How big is this market in euros per year?”

pt-clinic-scheduling

“Size the market for our scheduling software: TAM, SAM and SOM over the next 3 years.”

restaurant-tam-slide

“An investor pushed back on our TAM slide. Is it wrong? Here's the slide and some numbers we have.”

spain-poland-check

“Our marketing lead sized Spain plus Poland at €37M a year. Can you check it and give me a better number?”

Install

Download the .zip and unzip it. Put its files, in a folder named market-sizing, here:

Claude Code~/.claude/skills/Every project. For one project only, use .claude/skills/ inside it.
Codex~/.agents/skills/Every project. For one repository only, use .agents/skills/ inside it.
Cursor~/.cursor/skills/Cursor also reads the Claude Code and Codex folders above.

Then start a new session and ask for what the skill does. Other agents that read SKILL.md have their own skills folder; check their docs.

Coming after launch: get skills from inside your agent, no download needed.